News Flash


Posted on: June 5, 2020

A message from the Town of Hope Mills

Town of Hope Mills Statement

A message from the Town of Hope Mills

As leaders for the Town, we have come together to show our solidarity in Hope Mills to oppose social injustices and systemic oppression of African Americans that we have seen and continue to see.  We recognize and share the outrage related to the senseless death of George Floyd.  Hope Mills and the surrounding area represent such a widely diverse culture.  This diversity makes the events that we’ve seen recently that much more difficult for us all.  We support the rights of those who are peacefully protesting to honor the memory of George Floyd and countless others that have been victims of systemic racism and police violence.  Let’s continue to work together to ensure that protests remain peaceful.  Let us not allow these horrific acts to erode trust in our police forces as they put their lives on the line daily to protect us while maintaining a level of excellence that we cannot allow to be tainted by the acts of a few.

We pledge to make every effort within our power to create a just society in Hope Mills.  We pledge to work together to bridge divides in our community.  We pledge to lead hard conversations and continue dialog that will one day hopefully bring to an end the feelings, frustrations, and perceptions that have led to the current discourse.  We pledge to continue to improve police relations and to support ethically-based policies focused on areas of diversity and inclusion.  We pledge to create a more equitable Town.

Let us all come together to make a change as we have strength when we all stand together.

Jackie Warner, Mayor                                                  Dr. Kenjuana McCray, Mayor Pro Tem

Jessie Bellflowers, Commissioner                                Pat Edwards, Commissioner

Jerry Legge, Commissioner                                          Bryan Marley, Commissioner

Melissa P. Adams, Town Manager                               Joel Acciardo, Police Chief

Chuck Hodges, Fire Chief                                            Drew Holland, Finance Director

Jane Starling, Town Clerk                                             Laticia Black, Human Resources Director

Don Sisko, Public Works Director                               Beth Brown, Stormwater Administrator

Lamarco Morrison, Parks & Recreation Director         Ray Reeves, Inspections Director

Chancer McLaughlin, Planning & Economic Development Director Town of Hope Mills Statement

Facebook Twitter Email